Monday Mornings: She Said Yes

19 Aug

I prayed for her.

Not every day. Not even every week. But every so often. Watching my son playing on the playground, I might think of her and pray. When long strokes of cursive filled my journal, she would make it into the prayer requests from time to time. Sometimes I’d see him across the living room and I’d wonder. Where she was. What was she doing. Prayers would come.

I don’t believe there is one person God has picked out for you and you must find that person. To be honest, I’m not really sure how my prayers for her work. I’ve thought that part of praying for another is softening your own heart and preparing you for how life changes. That one day instead of my son looking at me with his big brown adoring eyes, his head would turn and he would be looking at another with those same eyes. One day instead of him reaching for my hand when he was scared or anxious, he would be reaching for another’s hand. Her hand. And when you’ve prayed for her for all those years you smile and you know. Your heart opens to encompass another.

That one day I saw the tenderness and the love in the midst of an anxious moment. The understanding for each others strengths and weaknesses. They walked out the door. Tears ran down my face. I asked God was she the one I had been praying for?

Then there was the conversation. The two asking us if we thought they were ready to be married. I cried. “So, you are the one I’ve prayed for all these years.” She cried, too.

The little boy who would gaze up at the stars and who memorized all the constellations took his telescope. . . the one his uncle and aunt bought him when he was in junior high and dreamed of being an astronomer. . . and he took her hand leading her into a field in the Minnesota countryside. The meteors fell from the sky. Somewhere between Saturn and the moon he knelt down and asked.

This morning perhaps I am thinking back a decade or two remembering the little boy now grown into the man. I’m thinking of all those prayers for him, for his future, just begging God at times to keep his safe from harm but not so safe that he didn’t learn a few things along the way. I’m remembering all those prayers for her- for a heart that loved God, for confidence in who God made her to be, for whatever it was that she needed right then. And my heart is full.

She said yes.

6 Responses to “Monday Mornings: She Said Yes”

  1. Joetta Colquette August 19, 2013 at 9:28 am #

    You are an expert crafting words, creating precise moments in memory and heart. I have similar experience praying for our son’s future mate and our daughter’s. I am so thankful for Blaine, for his heritage that you and your husband have lived before him, and for the Christian young man that he is. Continued Blessings on you Dienna and your family~

    • Dienna G. August 19, 2013 at 9:35 am #

      Oh thank you Joetta. Fun to have someone from way back when to share this moment with.

  2. Emily Lee August 19, 2013 at 9:30 am #

    So happy for all of you. I still can’t believe they made you bottle it all in for 5 days! I can imagine you were bursting- I mean BURSTING!- with untold excitement. 🙂

    • Dienna G. August 19, 2013 at 9:35 am #

      Thanks Emily! Yes, I was bursting with excitement.

  3. Jenny Hodgson August 19, 2013 at 7:44 pm #

    As the mother of the one you prayed for, I say THANK YOU! I too have prayed for the one God would bring into my daughters life. I have prayed for someone who would understand her heart and value her as none other. Someone who would come alongside her and face the world’s trouble with her. Someone who would love God and desire to serve Him as a couple. I have seen that develop between our children and thank God for your family who has raised him to be the champion of my daughter. Thank you!
    Blaine’s future Mother-in-law, Jenny

    • Dienna G. August 19, 2013 at 9:43 pm #

      Pretty cool to think about two mothers praying desperately for their kids living at times so far apart. I think perhaps we shall have quite a bit of fun this next year.

Leave a Reply

